Hit News’ 2008 Nebraska HS Football Recognition of Excellence Salute

Posted on November 23, 2008. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , |

By Will Cummings
Hit News @ Hit Highlights

   Hit News congratulates all of the coaches and players selected for its first “Nebraska  High School Football Recognition of Excellence Salute.”

   The Nebraska high school coaches and players selected represent the highest levels of effort and commitment to excellence in the sport of football. 

“Hit News thanks all of you for giving high school football fans so many memorable moments throughout the 2008 season, and we wish you all continued success in the future.”


Hit News’ 2008 Nebraska HS Football
Recognition Of Excellence Salute



Head Coach Of The Year

Kirk Peterson
Millard West

Coach Peterson guided the Millard West Wildcats to a perfect 13-0 record and a State Class A Championship. It was only the school’s second state football title and Peterson has been part of both: He was an assistant coach for the first title in 2001.


Assistant Coach Of The Year

Daniel Jackson
Omaha Burke

As a first year offensive coordinator, Jackson introduced  the Pistol Offense to the Bulldog program. Subsequently, he went on to orchestrate one of the top total yardage and point producing offenses in the state.


Offensive Player Of The Year

Tyler Seals, QB
Bellevue West


Seals broke numerous Nebraska high school career and season
records–throwing for just over 2,800 yards and 30 TDs this season– on his way to guiding his team to a state quarterfinal playoff appearance.


Defensive Player Of The Year

Jordan Hale, DB
Millard South

In addition to being among the top scorers and rushers in the state as a RB, Hale was just as prolific on defense as an explosive run stopper and pass defender, who helped to lead his team to a Class A state finals appearance, where he recorded two interceptions.


Comeback Player Of The Year

Alex Hook, QB
Creighton Prep

After undergoing knee surgery last season, Hook returned to the gridiron this year to help lead his team to a 9-0 regular season and a semi-final appearance in the Class A Playoffs. 


Newcomer Of The Year

Jimmie Forsythe, QB
Omaha Burke


As a sophomore, Forsythe was his team’s leading rusher—gaining nearly 900 yards on the ground–while helping to lead Burke to one of its best regular season records (7-2) and a trip to the playoffs.

 Click to Watch 2008 season highlight video




Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

  • my Hit News.com

    Nebraska High Schoolhoops7Top 25 Prospects '08/'09

    By Action Force


    Sponsor: Hit Highlights Inc.

    1. Jarell Crayton, 6-7, SR, C, Bellevue East

    2. Gregg Smith, 6-6, SR, SF/PF/SG, Ralston

    3. Elliot Elliason, 6-11, JR, C, Chadron

    4. Dwight Smith, 6-3, JR , PG/SG, Ralston

    5. Tyler Evans, 6-2, JR, SG/PG, Waverly

    6. Mike Gessell, 6-0, FR, PG, South Sioux City

    7.. John Karhoff, 6-8, SR, PF/C, Creighton Prep.

    8. Vondrae Tostenson, 6-5, SR, PF, Millard South

    9. Matt Hagerbaumen, 6-7, SR, SF, Lincoln Southeast

    10. Stevelle Burns, 6-0, SR, PG, Benson

    11. Deverell Biggs, 6-1, JR, SG/PF, Omaha Central

    12. Caleb Steffensmeir, 5-11, JR, PG, Creighton Prep

    13. Jordan Tyrance, 6-4, SF/PF, JR, Lincoln Southwest

    14. Trevor Meinke, 6-0, JR, PG, Beatrice

    15. Scottie Davis, 6-5, JR, SF/PF, Omaha Burke

    16. Derrius Vick, 6-0, SO, PG, Lincoln Southeast

    17. Ted Lampkin, 5-11, SO, PG, Omaha Central

    18. Jerad Warner, 6-6, JR, PF/C Omaha Gross

    19. Dol Kutey, 6-6, SR, C, Lincoln Northeast

    20. Ben Imig, 6-0, JR, SG/PG, Bryan

    21. Galen Gullie, 5-7, SR, PG, Bryan

    22 Pete Uhing, 6-5, SR, PF/C, Lincoln High

    23 Adonis Hill, 5-10, SO, PG, Omaha Burke

    24. Mike Dentlinger, 6-6, JR, PF/C, Millard North

    25. DK Augustine, 6-4, SO, C, Omaha Bryan

  • Action Force’s Top Ten


    Nebraska High School

    Basketball Teams

    (Week ending 02-15-09)

    Team ,(Record) Last wk rank


    Lincoln SW (18-2) 1


    Creighton Prep (15-4) 3


    Lincoln East(13-5) 4


    Lincoln High (11-6) 5


    Omaha Central (13-3) 3


    Lincoln Southeast(14-5) 7


    Lincoln Northeast(12-5) 103


    Omaha Bryan (15-6) 8


    Chadron (19-0) NR


    Norfolk (13-5) NR Contenders: Bellevue East, Omaha Burke, Omaha Benson, Bellevue West

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

%d bloggers like this: